jump to navigation

Reflections on surveys June 29, 2005

Posted by Sarah in Uncategorized.
trackback

As I took Cameron’s survey I couldn’t help but think both about how the structure of the survey reflected some interesting assumptions about the place of the ‘blog in the wider world of Internet use and about how I can incorporate these ideas into my own survey of ‘bloggers.

One of the sections of the survey involves the respondent feeding it the URL for his/her ‘blog, and then it grabs five links from that page ‘blog and asks you questions about them. Of the five links it grabbed for me, one was to my personal home page, and the other was to this ‘blog (I had fed it the URL for my personal ‘blog).

First Observation: The survey seems to assume that the static home page has gone away.

When asked what type of web page my static home page was, I said “personal web page”. The questions that followed assumed that “personal web page” and “blog” were the same thing. Interesting; mine is not. It’s an old-school, static web page.

Second Observation: There’s no allowance for a user having multiple, interlinked sties composed of both static web pages and ‘blogs.

I was asked to indicate my relationship to the author of each of these links. Nowhere was there an option for “self.” Am I that rare in maintaining three ‘blogs and a static home page? I don’t think so. I was discussing this observation with Matthew and he pointed out that for a professional webpage, many people NEED a static page.

What interests me most about that there is a set of assumptions about how Internet use is changing, an assumption that places the ‘blog as a primary use of the Web. I’m actually not 100% convinced that ‘blog use is common enough to make those assumptions valid.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

