jump to navigation

Tools of the trade September 6, 2006

Posted by Sarah in technology.
trackback

I’ve been building my cache of writing tools. I do my actual writing in Word, but I’ve been experimenting with a variety of complements to it, supposedly to enhance my productivity.

  • For citation management: For a long time I used EndNote, but I’ve recently become a bit disenchanted with it. I’ve been using the free trial of BookEnds for about six weeks now and I love it. I’ll be buying the full version sometime in the very near future. (I’m probably going to hit my 50-source limit today.)
  • For note-taking, brainstorming, and general organizing: My friend Jen recommended VoodooPad a while back and I’ve been loving it. I’m actually using VoodooPad Lite — which does everything I really want it to for FREE!
  • For diagramming: Last week I was lamenting the lack of graphics software on the newly-wiped-and-reinstalled X2, and Jeremy recommended OmniGraffle. I fell in love instantaneously. Again, free (but you can only do diagrams with up to 20 elements).
  • For outlining: Eloisa came with OmniOutliner already installed. I hadn’t messed with it much, but since I liked OmniGraffle so much, I figured I’d give it a spin as I outline my theory section. So far I’m liking it. I can actually see using it for reading notes, since I tend to think about such things in outline-type form. We shall see.
  • For procrastination: WordPress. For blogging about my tools, of course. :^D

That is all.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

