jump to navigation

A momentous day… September 7, 2006

Posted by Sarah in personal, progress.
trackback

I just sent a first draft of my dissertation prospectus to my advisor. It’s a very, very first draft, but it’s off!

This day has been a long, long time coming. Two years ago I was ramping up to teach a huge section of Drugs and Society with my buddy Jesse, and I was getting ready to present a paper about public and private on LiveJournal at AoIR‘s annual conference in Sussex. I was 23ish weeks pregnant, and my plan was to get my dissertation proposal done before the baby arrived in early January.

The second week in September, my hard drive died. I lost EVERYTHING. I got the computer back in time to get my presentation written for AoIR and I jetted off to London for four days, and landed back at Logan at about 5:30 pm on the 23rd of September.
Why do I know the date and time so well? Because 48 hours later, I gave birth to my daughter. She was 14.5 weeks premature – I wasn’t even in my third trimester. Depending on if you go by her gestational age or her birth weight (she was big for her gestational age) she had somewhere between a 50 and 80% chance of surviving.
Here she is at 2 days old (that’s my hand you see on her lower body):

Shoshanna and Mama's Hand

She spent 89 days in the hospital, and came home on supplemental oxygen and an O2 saturation/heart rate monitor.

Here she is a couple of weeks ago, a very healthy, happy almost-2-year-old:

Barrette

So in a lot of ways, today marks my return to the academic life that got put on hold two years ago.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

